Marriage laws in New Jersey are controlled by New Jersey Permanent Statute 31. Many of New Jersey’s wedding laws are comparable to those of other states. You must have proper identification, such as certified copies of birth certificates, passports, of drivers’ licenses. U.S. Citizens will also be required to provide their Social Security numbers. If less than eighteen years old, you must obtain your parents’ permission to get married. The cost of obtaining a marriage license is $28.
If you were previously married, you must provide a copy of your divorce decree or a copy of your former spouse’s death certificate. If either are New Jersey residents, they must get the marriage license in the county where the bride resides. If the bride is not a resident, the pair must apply for a marriage license in the county where the groom resides.
When neither person is a resident of the state, obtaining a marriage license from the county clerk of the county where the ceremony will be conducted is sufficient.
A three-day waiting period applies. Re-marriages and vow renewals are exempt from the three-day waiting period.
How to apply for a marriage license
Fill out the marriage license application form completely. An application form can also be obtained at the Local Registrar’s office or downloaded from the website below. Do not sign the marriage application form until you have visited the Local Registrar. The application must be signed under oath in the presence of the issuing authority.
Requirements for entering into a marriage
Before two persons can marry, the following conditions must be met:
- Not be a party to or recognized by another civil union, domestic partnership, or marriage in this state;
- Be at least 18 years old, with the exception that applicants under the age of 18 may marry with parental authorization. Applicants under the age of 16 must acquire parental consent and have it authorized in writing by any Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family Part judge.